on a hot, sunny, summer day

in my car, I stopped on a traffic signal

an old man, must be in his 70s

came running to me, a pile of books in his hands

sweating, loosing his energy in the heat

offering to sell wisdom at a price too cheap

knocked at the window glass of my car

“would you like to buy some good reads young lady”

with no intention to pay him any attention

I simply nodded my head to refuse

he requested kindly, one more time

this time, I looked into his eyes

how moved I was to see a shine there

his silent eyes were narrating a story

choosing not to beg, he chose to earn his glory

even when his weak bones were making him suffer

he had decided to Earn himself his bread and butter

I bought a book from him for just Rs 150

along with the book, came many blessings

he smiled gently at me, as I started to move

his eyes shone with a pleasure divine

as he waved me a pleasant goodbye

his happiness, his smile just made my day

I looked back to see him walk with pride

approaching another young lady in her car

to continue with his journey 

offering to sell the wisdom unmatched

image source

14 thoughts on “The Pleasure of selling Wisdom

      1. I too have seen many who struggle to fulfill their basic day today needs, when we are depressed and sad if we see them struggling it really motivates and one more thing is if we offer more amount than cost price they refuse to take it ,they will be having high self esteem they work hard. Big salute to them👏👏👍😊thanks for the wonderful post

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

