tik tok – tik tok – tik

the sound that i hear all day

making me realize

my little princess growing

in style

trying all my shoes with heels

one pair after the other

the cupboard remains open

all my bags are out lying

she chooses as per her mood

which one to carry, which color to hold

my lipsticks are all vanishing

her face painted all over

bright colors on her cheeks

make her look only more beautiful

 

sometimes, i ask her to stop

at times i let her carry on

for the joy on her face

being styled up with all her mommy’s belongings

is something that’s priceless

way beyond the value

of the bags, lipsticks and shoes

every day, each moment i relish

the joy of having a daughter

IMAGE SOURCE

9 thoughts on “growing up in style

  1. This makes me cry remembering the wonderful holidays with my cousin. His mother died recently and I can still picture him as a beautiful child going through my luggage trying things on and choosing what I should wear. I love him so much, even though I haven’t seen him in so long, he’s a grown man now. Sorry, but this just made me cry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

