the boy on the door to deliver a parcel

looked no older than eleven years

wore a torn cap, no laces on his shoes

the buttons on his shirt, mostly missing

first he offered the package to me

and then a ledger with a pen

“would you please sign against your name Ma’am”

while I signed, I asked him how old was he

“I am not sure Ma’am, my mother never told me”

where was his mother, my heart forced me to ask

“I never saw her, she died the day I was born”

my heart broke, the ground slipped under my feet

I asked him since when he was working, doing deliveries

like a hard blow on my face his innocent answer came

“I have been working since the day I GREW UP Ma’am”

as he turned to leave he said to me in pain

“I was never a child Ma’am, I never had a childhood

that parcel is still sitting in my room unopened

image source

12 thoughts on “I never had a childhood

  1. Omg this is so terrible, the harsh reality of life .. how heartless are we to turn a blind eye to this and focus on boasting about how much we have and wasting money on religious things when we could help a thousands with that money .. we have terribly failed as humans

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We do have.. failed badly.. Somehow we just accept things the way they are and never try to open our eyes and heart to it to bring a change.. how HEARTLESS we have become.. i sometimes wonder if we are worthy to be called humans anymore or humans mean the negative and not positive anymore?

      Like

Leave a Reply

