all dressed up for the wedding

I sat right next to the bride

the storm inside of me growing 

trying to find its way through my eyes

my beautiful dress somehow colorless to me

golden necklace made me breathless

sitting in the crowd today

I learnt how lonely could I become

my friend, the bride glowing with shine

the groom’s love for her made her divine

she asked me many times if I was O.K.

she somehow sensed my gloominess

after all we were the best of friends

I forced myself to hide my tears

even though my life was about to become dark and dull

I still couldn’t afford to let her down

I had promised myself never to reveal

that I was in love with the one

she was about to marry

***

image source

13 thoughts on “My Best Friend’s Wedding

Leave a Reply

