Layers distancing

Layers distancing

we were distanced

by the closeness between us

we were unhappy

for happiness that didn’t belong to us

we were crying from the inside

presenting fake smiles to the world

we drowned in pain

when we tried to dive into each other

we were filled, bubbled by the hollow

too many layers between us, parting our hearts

still all this while, never were we permitted

the unbearable pressure of the society

forcing our frames, to remain together

to do nothing but to put a fake face

behind which

we were to shed tears countless

embarrassing our happiness

image source

 

A Yum Mum

A Yum Mum

Yum!! I am a Yum Mum

my children taste my flavor

I am sweet and extra sweet sometimes

like chocolate pastries and candies

sugar drips off my words

as my children dive into the sweetness

out of my many tastes

sour is sometimes prominent

like a grape or a sour candy

my children squeeze tight their eyes

make faces to this taste

I accept I am bitter at times

true, I don’t relish it myself

my children agree to that too

I taste like berries, I taste like gum

sometimes I am a pizza, which is real fun

each taste, every flavor

my children relish, they live it with me

for they tell me every night before bed

how they are in love with me

tasty I am to them

Sure ! I am a Mum… A Yum Mum

image source

I get to live my dream

I get to live my dream

as I take the flight of imagination

million musings with bright colors

sway loose, dance in my mind

making rainbow of beautiful poems

containing all possible emotions

as they put me to work

I hold a quill, fuel it with ink

ready with the paper of my heart

to be carved with gold

each time I decorate it with words glorious

I get to live my dream

I get to live, my dream of writing

image source

The Green Girl

The Green Girl

green girl emerges in the jungle

long hair kissing her knees

divine body covered in leaves

fragrant as if bathed in flowers

glowing face with eyes blue green

her manner graceful like a queen

she holds the sun in one hand

in the other she holds the moon

showering the life in the jungle

with light, making it serene

trees bend their branches in honor

as she walks her elegant way

an army of all sorts of animals

follow their queen in silence

a sight so charmingly delightful

when the green girl emerges in the jungle

image source

Let’s Challenge our Failures

Let’s Challenge our Failures

Life is full of challenges. Many of us go through hardships in life at some point. The urge to be heard and to have company in times of struggle is only human.

In times of trying, many of us have our own moments of failures in life. The question is should we be shy to share them?

Aren’t are failures form a ladder to climb up to our success. Aren’t our failures equally important?  Should we not come out with our stories of falling down to give lessons to others?

I am sure, everyone’s favorite are the success stories. They are full of fancy and gives us an eye to imagine ourselves being successful. But, I strongly feel that we must come out with a few falls behind them. Let’s share every defeat, each failure that we may have faced in our lives.

Let every fall be the beginning of a fresh effort.

Come, share your story with us and let’s hear what others have in store! Leave a comment below.

Remember, your story may teach a lesson to someone in need.

mySestina

Envy & Grace

Envy & Grace

two sisters – unborn

dreaming together in the womb

holding each other’s hand

fondly in love, even before birth

sharing the sack

the fluid they gulped into their lungs

sharing every thought, each moment

be it happiness, pain or love

flawlessly playing their part

blooming a relationship wonderful

the sisters finally took birth

still unaware of the sadness of the world

sigh..

the cruel teachings of the inhumane

made them part their path

for one of them grew up as Ms. Grace

the other was named Ms. Envy

need more to be told of this story?

how two loving souls

doomed

to turn forver

into enemies

image source

An Awed whisper to Death

An Awed whisper to Death

he came back home just yesterday

united with his beloved wife

excited to see her belly grown to the full

tiny baby was about to come

the following morning, the phone rang

they called for him cancelling his leave

his country needed him, he was a soldier brave

the neighbor country had announced the war

with a heavy heart, he left home again

promising his wife, to be back soon enough

to welcome a new life to this world

to build his own, small beautiful world

the war had declared thousands dead

there were screams all around the border

there were unstopping explosions

his gun loaded, he faced the enemy with courage

a rain of bullets from the opposite side

just one, was enough to hit him in the chest

piercing his skin, poisoning his heart

he fell on the ground gasping for his breath

he vision went blank, only dark he could see

in that moment, he thought of his unborn baby

how eagerly his wife must be waiting

he spoke to Death in an awed whisper

begging for a little more time to live

sigh! 

the cruel war had swallowed his soul

he had to die

without welcoming his beloved child

image source

The Junkyard

The Junkyard

for their little left worth

to be sold, for few pennies

Junk, sitting in the Junkyard

a wooden chair with a broken arm

its fabric stinking of some heavy metal

an air conditioner with its compressor broken

the plug on it’s wire missing, at the end

books from the past, their paper turned yellow

with many missing pages, their covers all torn

a bike with its handle twisted

tyres deflated, the paddles jammed

broken toys of all sorts and shapes

a little horse, a train and a few barbie dolls

Junk in the Junkyard lying without any life

spider’s net covering some of it

layers of dust covering it all

it may be, of little worth today

or may be, of no worth at all

yet, the Junkyard holding it all so dearly

not wanting to let go any of it

because it has held the junk for so long

the Junkyard NOW

ONLY COMPLETE with the Junk

image source

#poetry #junkyard